Last year’s 72nd Primetime Emmys awarded a total of 23 contestants with trophies, including shows like “Schitt’s Creek” and “Succession” and actors like Billy Crudup and Julia garner. But of these 23 winners, surprisingly only of them are eligible to repeat at the 2021 Emmys: “RuPaul’s Drag Race” for Best Competition Schedule and “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” for Best Variety Talk Series. In other words, the upcoming 73rd ceremony will be teeming with first-time winners.

We know what you’re thinking: why are so many shows from last year now ineligible? It’s a mix of some programs that have ended and the coronavirus pandemic stopping production on others. “Schitt’s Creek” represented all seven prime-time comedy categories (Series, Actor, Actress, Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Writing and Directing), which means they’re all up for grabs this year. “Succession,” which won four of last year’s drama awards (series, actor, writing and directing), failed to produce a new season in time to be eligible for the 2021 ceremony. Ditto with “Euphoria “(actress),” Ozark “(supporting actress) and” The Morning Show “(supporting actor).

According to Gold Derby’s Emmy predictions, the Best Series trophies will go to a freshman comedy (“Ted Lasso”) and a fourth-year drama that has yet to win the top prize (“The Crown” ). Other new shows in this 2020-21 cycle that are expected to win awards include Limited Edition “The Queen’s Gambit” and “Sylvie’s Love” for TV.

As for the 12 prime-time actor categories (four for drama, four for comedy, four for film / limited), only two are expected to go to people who have already won Emmys. in their career. Kenan thompson (“Saturday Night Live”) is a former champion for writing the “SNL” song “Come Back, Barack” (2018) and Gillian anderson (“The Crown”) has already won for appearing in “The X-Files” (1997). Meanwhile, Michael k williams (“Lovecraft Country”) and Catherine hahn (“WandaVision”) have both been nominated previously for other projects.

This means that the other eight expected winners will all be Emmy newcomers: Kaley cuoco (“The stewardess”), Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”) and Hannah waddingham (“Ted Lasso”) in the comedy, Emma Corrin (“The Crown”) and Josh o’connor (“The Crown”) in the drama, and Anya Taylor-Joy (“The Queen’s Gambit”), Ethan hawke (“The good Lord bird”) and John boyega (“Small Ax”) in limited / movie version.

Make your Emmy predictions at the Gold Derby now. Download our free and easy app to Apple / iPhone devices or Android (Google Play) to compete with legions of other fans as well as our experts and editors for the best prediction accuracy scores. See our latest prediction champions. Can you then surpass our estimated rankings? Remember to always keep your predictions up to date as they impact our latest race odds, which terrify chefs and Hollywood stars. Don’t miss the fun. Express yourself and share your edgy opinions in our famous forums where 5,000 showbiz leaders hide every day to keep up with the latest awards buzz. Everyone wants to know: what do you think? Who are you predicting and why?

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.