Jodie Whittaker returns for one final season as a Doctor (Photo: PA)

For fans of Doctor Who, Halloween 2021 is more of a treat than a gimmick as the show’s new series launches on BBC One.

The new season is set to be emotional, with Jodie Whittaker leaving the series having previously filmed the regeneration scene (where one Doctor is replaced by another) and Mandip Gill, who plays Yaz, recounting in an exclusive interview that fans will mourn.

The show has become an institution at this point, but how many Doctor Who shows have there been and when did it start?

Here’s what you need to know …

How many Doctor Who series have there been?

In total, there have been 39 seasons of Doctor Who.

The Doctor Who episode timeline is generally divided into two groups: the original series of the series, which ran from 1963 to 1989, and the current series, which was brought back to the BBC in 2005.

The original Doctor Who series – often referred to as the Classic Era – ran for 26 series.

To view this video, please enable JavaScript and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video.

The first episode aired on November 23, 1963. William Hartnell played the First Doctor.

The classic Doctor Who era ended on December 6, 1989, ending with the Seventh Doctor, played by Sylvester McCoy.

The show was relaunched in March 2005, with Christopher Ecclestone playing the first Doctor of the New Era.

The 13the Doctor Who’s current era series returned on October 31, 2021, with Jodie Whittaker returning for her final series as the very first female Timelord.

Mandip Gill, Jodie Whittaker and John Bishop in Doctor Who

Yaz (Mandip Gill, The Doctor (Jodie Whittaker) and Dan (John Bishop) will star in the 13th series (Photo: BBC Studios / James Pardon)

There is no news on who will replace Whittaker, but there are a lot of names in contention.

Olly Alexander has been a favorite among bookmakers, with other names like Michael Sheen and Michaela Coel warmly inclined.

How many Doctor Who episodes have there been?

Before the launch of the 13e series, 862 episodes had been broadcast.

With six episodes slated for Series 13, there will be 868 episodes in total before Russell T Davies returns as Series 14 showrunner.

Doctor Who returns Sunday, October 31 at 6:25 a.m. on BBC One.

MORE: Doctor Who’s Jodie Whittaker “Considered Staying On The Show For Longer” Ahead Of The 2022 Release

MORE: Xena: Warrior Princess star Lucy Lawless wants to succeed Jodie Whittaker in Doctor Who

Follow Metro on our social networks, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Share your views in the comments below.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.