Julian Avram / Icon Sportswire / Getty Images

  • Daniil Medvedev hit an opponent with a smah at the Rogers Cup.

  • Medvedev apologized after hitting the opponent and was called for obstruction by the referee.

  • Medvedev was incredulous, saying, “Can you imagine how stupid this call is?

  • Visit the Insider homepage for more stories.

Russian tennis star Daniil Medvedev tried to show sportsmanship and ended up being penalized for it.

In a trade for Alexander Bublik at the Rogers Cup, Medvedev hit the net. However, the ball went straight into Bublik’s racket, which had fallen. As the ball hit Bublik’s racket, Medvedev apologized.

Unfortunately for Medvedev, the ball was still alive as it somehow came back through the net.

That’s when the referee ruled an obstacle to Medvedev, claiming he distracted Bublik during the point.

Medvedev was in disbelief when the game ended, and he asked why he was called for a penalty.

“I’m calling obstruction because you spoke during the point,” said the referee.

Bublik had no idea who the call was headed, while Medvedev argued the call, calling it ridiculous.

“I had the ball to kick. You didn’t have to kick the ball,” Medvedev said. “Can you imagine how stupid that call is?”

Both players laughed when Medvedev said: “It’s going to be on Tennis TV, my brother.”

As Bublik laughed, Medvedev said: “He’s laughing at you. It’s amazing what you did.”

Medvedev ultimately won the match, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Medvedev can often be vocal and direct on the pitch. During the Tokyo Olympics, he asked a referee who would be responsible if he died from the heat.

Watch the clip below (which ended up on Tennis TV!):

Read the original article on Insider


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.